Most, if not all, of us are frequently advised on the dangers of driving drunk. It’s not surprising that driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol is a serious crime in all 50 states. However, each state has its own unique DUI laws, making it confusing to know what to expect if one gets arrested on DUI allegations.
But just how bad are the consequences of choosing to drive drunk? In California, even if you have the best drunk driving attorney you can find, you can expect a fairly harsh punishment — it is a serious crime to drive drunk, after all.
To become more familiar with California’s drunk driving laws, here’s a look at the three most frequently asked DUI questions — along with their answers:
Q: How much is a first-time DUI fine?
A: In California, a first-time misdemeanor DUI conviction won’t come cheap. Fines for these convictions can now cost as much as $15,649. For first-time DUI offenses for people under the age of 21, these fines rise to an astronomical $22,492. In addition to other harsh DUI consequences, paying fines that are the equivalent of a down payment on a home certainly isn’t a situation in which you want to find yourself.
Q: Will you go to jail for a DUI?
A: As any local attorneys in California will tell you, you will have to serve a minimum jail sentence of 48 hours for a first-time DUI offense. For repeat offenders, the jail sentence is lengthened accordingly. Second-time offenders, for example, must serve a minimum 10 days, or 96 hours, in jail.
Q: How long is one’s driver’s license suspended after a DUI?
A: For first-time offenders, the courts can suspend one’s driver’s license for a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of six months. You may also be required to purchase and install an ignition interlock device, which requires you to breathe into a breathalyzer before you can turn your car on.
Have even more questions about DUI consequences in California? Just want to know how to choose an attorney at law? Ask us anything in the comments below. More can be found here.